













































YOLO COUNTY







May 25, 2022

The Honorable Toni Atkins President pro Tempore California State Senate

The Honorable Nancy Skinner Chair Senate Budget Committee

The Honorable Anthony Rendon Speaker California State Assembly

The Honorable Phil Ting Chair Assembly Budget Committee

RE: Support for Resource Conservation District Financial Assistance Program and Climate Smart Land Management Program at the Department of Conservation

Dear President pro Tempore Atkins, Speaker Rendon, Chair Skinner, and Chair Ting,

On behalf of the undersigned organizations, we are writing in strong support of Assemblymember Aguiar-Curry's budget request for \$10 million over two years for the Resource Conservation District Financial Assistance Program at the Department of Conservation (DOC). This program provides critical funding to RCDs that enables them to expand their programs and services at the local level.

California is home to 95 RCDs that serve rural, urban, and suburban populations throughout the state. RCDs are comprised of conservation professionals and local experts committed to seeing our communities thrive and build resilience to the impacts of climate change, and many RCDs have extensive experience working in communities on a multitude of natural resources issues including but not limited to wildfire protection, forest health, defensible space, soil health, water efficiency, and watershed restoration. Increasing the capacity of RCDs will enable more RCDs to better implement the State's investments in natural resource protection and climate change.

Additionally, we support the Administrations' proposed \$20 million investment in a "Climate Smart Land Management Program" at the DOC. This program is included in the Administration's proposed expenditure plan for the \$768 million "multi-benefit and nature based solutions set aside" included in the 2021-22 Climate Resilience Package. The intent of this DOC program is to provide technical assistance and capacity grants to organizations working to achieve the goals outlined in *Pathways to 30x30* and the *Natural and Working Lands Climate Smart Strategy*.

We respectfully request the Senate and the Assembly support both programs and include them in the 2022-23 State Budget.

Sincerely,

Karen Buhr

Executive Director

Feren Bul

California Association of Resource Conservation Districts

Kandi Manhart Ann Baldridge Executive Officer Executive Director

Glen County RCD RCD of Greater San Diego County

Brittany Jensen Devin Best

Executive Director Executive Director

Gold Ridge RCD Upper Salinas - Las Tablas RCD

Lucas PatzekPaul RobinsExecutive DirectorExecutive Director

Napa County Resource Conservation District Resource Conservation District of Monterey

County

Kellyx Nelson Lisa Lurie

Executive Director Executive Director

San Mateo Resource Conservation District RCD of Santa Cruz County

Jon Barrett
District Manager
RCD of Tehama Cow

RCD of Tehama County

Maureen Teubert District Manager Western Shasta RCD

Tori Estrada Executive Director Carbon Cycle Institute

Ellie Cohen Executive Director The Climate Center

Andy Naja-Reise

CEO

Agricultural Institute of Marin

Rebecca Burgess Executive Director

Fibershed

Asha Sharma,

Organizing Co-Director,

Pesticide Action Network North America

Rebecca Spector West Coast Director Center for Food Safety

Wendy Millet
Director
TomKat Ranch

Anna Olsen Executive Director

Cachuma Resource Conservation District

Jackie Crabb District Manager Coastal San Luis RCD

Thad Walker
District Manager
RCD of Butte County

Dana Raponi District Manager Mojave Desert RCD

Jennifer Clary California Director Clean Water Action

Kara Heckert

Resilient Agriculture West Advisor

American Farmland Trust

Michael Reid Demock Program Director Roots of Change

Andrea Mackenzie General Manager

Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority

Jeanne Merrill
Director of Policy

CalCAN

Sarah Aird and Jane Sellen,

Co-Directors,

Californians for Pesticide Reform

Nick Lapis,

Director of Advocacy

Californians Against Waste

Jennifer Sanders Board President Sutter County RCD

Heather Nichols Executive Director

Yolo County Resource Conservation District

Jill Demers

Executive Director Humboldt County RCD

Darcy Cook Regional Manager

Mission Resource Conservation District